Skip to content

Sweetheart

June 19, 2012

Over the weekend, my hubby and I stumbled into Marshalls on a lazy Saturday in attempt to get out of the sun. (Ok it was more so my idea because he hates shopping but he actually wound up finding something he really loved!)

I wandered aimlessly around the store looking at the shoes and women’s clothing. Just when I came to the conclusion that my local Marshalls never has anything good, I found a pair of floral sweetheart dresses by the Sans Souci in the junior’s section.

The pink immediately caught my eye because it was more unique between the two. I used Instagram to take the fitting room photos because the light was extremely harsh and washed all the color out. The first photo shows the dress looking marvelous. I picture texted that same photo to my hubs while I was in the fitting room and he said, “I wouldn’t let you leave the store without it.” However, in person, he hated it.

The color (in person) is more of a peachy pink (see the close up above). And that color combined with the red and cream flowers really just wasn’t very pretty. If it had been a white or cream, I would’ve snatched it up immediately. And finally, I found a stain on the dress and small rip in the tulle which finalized my decision to let the dress go.

While the pink is girly and very pretty, to me, black is more sexy. While I would normally opt for the “pretty” dress, because of the reasons above, I ended up with the black. The black with the pink and white flowers has definitely been seen before but I still do think it’s cute and I love the shape and cut of the dress. I’m still looking for a pretty white or cream floral sweetheart dress but this will do for now.

Oh, and best of all, the dress was only $20! I’d say that’s a steal since my last dress (that was very similar) that I’d purchased five years ago was $50.

I also found this Betsey Johnson laptop bag. Why must hearts and metallic colors always get me? I put it on hold and came back to look at it but in the end, I couldn’t buy it. There was no shoulder strap and I already knew that would lead to my complaining about carrying multiple bags to school and a sore arm.

I am in desperate need of a nice, roomy laptop bag. Carrying my laptop in my purse with a million other books and notebooks is getting old (I need more space!) And those manly, UGLY laptop bags are not an option.

Do you frequent discount stores like Marshalls or TJ Maxx? What gems have you found?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. jeannie permalink
    June 28, 2012 8:36 am

    love how you took pictures of these! i bought the black one too & my friend wants the pink one. it was perfect stumbling onto your page :]

    • August 24, 2012 11:41 pm

      Nice! I thought it was a pretty sweet find and I’m happy you picked one up too. =)

  2. June 28, 2012 9:05 am

    Hi, what did you buy during this summer sale šŸ˜‰ I’m looking forward to new entry sharing this.

    • August 24, 2012 11:42 pm

      I purchased quite a few things! I’m hoping to do a post soon on some of my buys and fitting room finds. Have you purchased anything new this summer?

  3. Heather permalink
    June 28, 2012 12:53 pm

    Love your dress so cute! And at such a great price!

  4. July 3, 2012 4:51 pm

    I have bought a Dooney and Bourke from TJMaxx, it was a green polka dot thing, very cute. I also have some jeans, shirts, I actually just bought a dress in white like the one above yesterday. I buy bathroom stuff there, blankets, towels, hairspray, shampoo, clothing… I love it!

    • August 24, 2012 11:43 pm

      I absolutely love TJ Maxx and Marshalls! I always find the greatest things for reasonable prices. ā¤

  5. Amber permalink
    August 21, 2012 5:52 pm

    Hi,
    Would you be interested in selling the black floral dress to me if I offered you double than what you paid for it, please let me know I’m a normal girl who just happened to stumble upon your blog so please don’t think its a scam or something like that I just fell in love with your dress that I’m willing to buy it at a high price.

    • August 24, 2012 11:46 pm

      Hi amber, at this point in time, I think I’m going to hold onto it because I’ve only had a chance to wear it once. If I decide to part with it in the future, would you be interested? If you shoot me a personal email (notsofashionable@gmail.com) or leave your email in the comments, maybe we can work something out if I decide to let it go later on.

      Also, do you have a TJ Maxx or Marshalls in your area? They usually carry the same things. Maybe you’ll be able to find it there. =)

      • Amber permalink
        August 31, 2012 9:09 pm

        Hi Kali,
        Thanks for even considering selling it to me but lucky me I found the exact same dress in my size, but way more than 20 bucks =( but thanks to you I was determined to find it and now I did. Maybe you should consider selling things you don’t want I’m sure you’ll have many buyers including my self =) Thanks for taking your time to answer me though you have a wonderful day.
        Amber

  6. Katheryn permalink
    September 9, 2012 1:38 pm

    i have the pink dress and i love it but i also have the same floral print in black but its too big. i think im a bigger fan of the pink though because i feel very young when i wear it and i love looking like a little ballerina šŸ™‚

  7. Hana permalink
    September 16, 2012 5:53 pm

    I got the SAME black dress at Marshall’s too the other day for $10.00!!! ONLY!!!!

  8. sasha permalink
    November 2, 2012 8:08 pm

    saw this dress in jamaica….love it!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. Ilse permalink
    January 14, 2013 10:36 am

    wow I am looking for this dress for so long where can I buy it? I am myself silly on searching the internet for this dress but i cant find it šŸ˜¦ pleasss help me! Xoxo ilse

    • January 30, 2013 10:23 pm

      Hi! I bought this dress at Marshall’s but I’m guessing it could be found also at T.J. Maxx since they usually carry the same things. But since that was a long time ago, might not be around anymore. Also, I know those stores buy from department stores so maybe check Macy’s Junior’s section?

Leave a Reply

